PRESENT PERFECT SIMPLE INTRODUCTION

What is this tense? How do we use it?

What are all the irregular verb forms?

FORMATION

have + past participle

examples:

I have walked.

They haven’t studied.

We’ve already eaten.

The following slides will explain general formation and usage:

USAGE

ex 1:

I have worked at the Zipbox company as an account manager for five years. I started in May 2001.

Here, I started my job in the past. I currently work at Zipbox. So, my time with this company started in the past but is still continuing now (and will probably continue in the future).

ex2:

She has just spilled paint on my shoes! Now I my shoes are ruined!

In this example, the spill happened in the past and the action is finished, BUT the result is NOW. The result is now I need new shoes.

PRES PERF quick recap

IRREGULAR VERBS

Need help memorising the irregular past participles? Sing along with this rap by Fluency MC:

Now that you’ve listened, it’s your turn to sing!

About Michele

Energetic and passionate English (EFL) teacher with more than ten years teaching experience.

Leave a Reply

